

The International Journal of Ethical Leadership

Volume 4 Article 2

2017

Inamori Ethics Prize Recipients: Update

Inamori Center

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarlycommons.law.case.edu/ijel

Part of the Applied Ethics Commons, Business Law, Public Responsibility, and Ethics Commons, Leadership Studies Commons, and the Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility Commons

Recommended Citation

Center, Inamori (2017) "Inamori Ethics Prize Recipients: Update," *The International Journal of Ethical Leadership*: Vol. 4, Article 2.

Available at: https://scholarlycommons.law.case.edu/ijel/vol4/iss1/2

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Cross Disciplinary Publications at Case Western Reserve University School of Law Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in The International Journal of Ethical Leadership by an authorized administrator of Case Western Reserve University School of Law Scholarly Commons.

Update on Inamori Ethics Prize Recipients

The Inamori Ethics Prize has been awarded to accomplished and ethical leaders across disciplines and industries since 2008. Though prize recipients work in vastly different fields, they share principles and a continuing pattern of dedication to ethical practice and leadership that has yielded fruitful work since they were honored in Cleveland. The first awardee was Dr. Francis Collins, director of the National Institutes of Health, for his pioneering work as head of the Human Genome Project and his collaborative discoveries of the gene origins of several diseases. The 2009 Prize recipient was Mary Robinson, who was the first woman to serve as president of Ireland, and is a former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights. The 2010 honoree was Stan Brock, founder of the Remote Area Medical organization, which provides medical care to thousands without insurance in the United States and in disaster areas abroad. Beatrice Mtetwa, described by the New York Times as "Zimbabwe's top human rights lawyer" was awarded the Inamori Ethics Prize in 2011. Canadian academic, television presenter, and environmental activist David Suzuki received the prize in 2012. 2013 continued the Inamori Center's dedicated focus to environmental causes by honoring Yvon Choinard, the founder of outdoor clothing company Patagonia, for its corporate commitments to the environment, and to the wellbeing of its employees. In 2014, The Center celebrated the work of Dr. Denis Mukwege, physician and founder of the Panzi Hospital in the Democratic Republic of Congo. Dr. Mukwege has been instrumental in the surgical and emotional recovery for thousands of women who suffered as victims of the use of rape as tactic of war. In 2015, professor and philosopher Martha Nussbaum was recognized with the Inamori Ethics Prize for her work with economist Amartya Sen in developing the "capabilities approach" toward international aid. The 2016 prize recipient was Professor Peter Eigen, founder of the Transparency International, and a world renown anticorruption advocate.

In the period since receiving their award, the Inamori Prize honorees have continued the principled and ethical work that led to their initial

nominations. The foundations created by these leaders continue to be robust and active. Dr. Collins began the BioLogos Foundation prior to his prize, and it has furthered the reconciliation of Christian faith with the sciences. Mary Robinson began the Mary Robinson Foundation for Climate Justice in 2010, and its goals include "to secure global justice for those people vulnerable to the impacts of climate change who are usually forgotten." Remote Area Medical continues its work in the United States, and has sent teams of volunteers to Greece, Nepal, and the Philippines. In addition, RAM has broadened its mission in the creation of the RAM Ranger program, a "life skills and personal development project for atrisk boys and girls." The program, centered in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains, provides opportunities for youth from all over the country for camping, recreation, and mentoring. The David Suzuki Foundation was founded in 1990 and continues to work toward its mission of, among other goals, protecting the climate, establishing environmental rights and justice, and fostering a sense of connection to the Earth for Canadians. Dr. Mukwege's hospital houses its charitable wing, as the Panzi Hospital and Foundations. The Panzi Foundations has an American branch, housed in Los Angeles and called the Panzi Foundation USA.

In addition to work in their particular areas of accomplishment, Inamori Prize recipients are also leading the charge against conflicts and crises that are current and imminent. The NIH under the leadership of Dr. Collins hopes to have a Zika virus vaccine by 2018, and is currently developing and testing four potential vaccines simultaneously. Professor Nussbaum has provided thoughtful commentary on contemporary issues, ranging from the importance of the humanities in education to the complex problem of prosecuting famous men for sexual crimes. The David Suzuki Foundation, in coordination with other Canadian nonprofit organizations and the Red Cross, has been encouraging its audience to support Fort McMurray residents and surrounding First Nation communities as they recover from devastating wildfires.

Awardees have been also been recognized for their work by other organizations and universities. All have received honorary degrees from universities across the globe. Dr. Collins was awarded the National Medal of Science for Biological Sciences in 2009. Beatrice Mtetwa was recognized by the State Department's International Women of Courage Award in 2014. Dr. Mukwege was granted the Sakharov Prize in 2014, and was recently recognized by *Time* magazine as one of the 100 most influential people of

2016. Professor Nussbaum received the American Philosophical Association's Quinn Prize in 2015, the award conferred by the organization "in recognition of service to philosophy or philosophers" and the prestigious international 2016 Kyoto Prize in Arts and Philosophy.

In addition to their primary foci, prize honorees have continued their tradition of accomplished writing. Mary Robinson released *Everybody Matters: My Life Giving Voice* in 2013. The author of many previous works, David Suzuki's most recent work is *Letters to My Grandchildren* in 2015. Yvon Chouinard wrote a "visual scrapbook" and biography of his company, titled *Patagonia: 40 Years of Firsts* in 2013. The 2015 prize recipient Martha Nussbaum's most recent work is *Anger and Forgiveness*, published in 2016 by Oxford University Press.

Filmmakers have taken notice of the significant work of Inamori Ethics Prize awardees. Since 2013, four documentary films have been produced about their altruism, dedication, and perseverance. Paul Michael Angell is the director of *Medicine Man: The Stan Brock Story*, which was released in 2016. Lorie Conway and Hopewell Chinono produced *Beatrice Mtetwa and the Rule of Law* in 2013. A documentary by Thierry Michel and Colette Braeckman about Dr. Mukwege has been recognized by multiple film festivals; *The Man Who Mends Women* was released in 2015. Dr. Mukwege was also featured in a 2016 documentary about his patients living in community, *City of Joy*.

The Inamori Ethics Prize is committed to recognizing the principles, sacrifices, and dynamic impact of these leaders and those yet to come.